Writing task 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries around the world, rural residents are moving to cities, Consequently, the population in the countryside decreases. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? List the reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from Your knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Many nations around the world are witnessing rapid urbanization. This leads to significant increase of city residents and decrease of the rural population.

The industrial revolution kicked of rapid modernization in countries around the world. Consequently, a huge portion of the country-men are shifting to urban dwellings. This is a result of a need for better lifestyle, well-paid jobs, quality healthcare and availability of secondary or tertiary education.

This is definitely a positive development. Despite the claims of decline in happiness, there are many advantages. Human beings are achieving more than they ever could. Furthermore, we are living way past the average human-life a century ago. Adding to it, people from different cultures are living in close-knit nieghbourhoods. Hence, the social well-being of a nation is also benefiting from this migration.

An opponent might argue that preserving culture and rural practices are just as important. Plus, cities are getting flooded and cramped with little to no sustainability for the growing population. Due to which, this translocation of people could turn out to be negative. Being wary of such outcomes that is seen in cities like Hongkong, where the people do not have space to breathe is very crucial. These are the reasons why governments should focus on urbanizing the country-side as well. A unique blend of latest trends and old traditions can be a method to upgrade such places.

All in all, this trend is surely for the better. If managed in an organized and planned manner there wouldn’t be excess migration. Instead, country-side could support an urban population itself.