Writing task 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries around the world, rural residents are moving to cities, Consequently, the population in the countryside decreases. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? List the reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from Your knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In almost every place of the world, urbanization has become very common. This is the process when dwellers leave their native villages in order to seek the best life in megacities. That trend leads to low population density in rural areas and detrimentally affects society and the local economy.

Nowadays, overpopulation is a critical issue for many nations, but it fares worse when residents decide to concentrate in urban sites. Not all companies and businesses can provide enough workplaces for out-of-towners. Therefore, a lot of people then face financial problems: they do not have money to afford high-cost housing, amenities, and even groceries. Prices for the same goods in the city are much higher than in the countryside. Such an acute gap in income and cost of living, with no chance of finding a good job, quickly generates serious crime rates. It is very problematic for local authorities to fight this because it is impossible to provide good conditions for everyone who comes from outside.

Moreover, urbanization causes a lack of professional specialists in backcountries. As a result, local facilities cannot be adequately maintained and deteriorate over time. Rural people do not have access to basics like schools with good education, hospitals with essential technologies, medicine, and recreational places. The young generation desires to work in a more progressive environment than countrysides can offer them.

For instance, in Russia it has become such a crucial problem that there is a profession called “zemskii” teacher. It is a teacher who goes from ordinary schools to those located in remote areas and is highly paid with the possibility to get free accommodation. This shows how essential it is to deal with the problem starting from now on.

“In conclusion, although most people tend to move to metropolitan cities for development, we should not forget to take care of rural areas and improve them. Without this progress, neither area would achieve proper growth and a good standard of living.