WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

There is a myriad of death of people in the poorest part of the world due to high cost of medication. In spite of challenges of reducing the cost of the drugs, I really think that the pharmaceutical companies should really think about reducing their prices due to poverty and increasing deaths where medicines are not available.

First of all, in today’s world innovation focuses on creating medicines for all sort of diseases, which were deadly before but now curable. For instances, in certain parts of the Africa, there are numerous people dying from polio due to insufficient remedies readily available to them as opposed to countries such as the USA wherein it has been eradicated many decades ago. Although, drugs have been experimented in the developed countries, it is still very expensive to purchase due to poverty.

Nowadays, lowering prices of medicines so that people can afford has become a debatable topic. The companies should never compromise on the ingredients of the drugs but focus on building infrastructure and also inventing medicines using domestic products in those parts where the population are poor. This will lower the cost of the medicine and in return, people could work in those companies, thus promoting employment in those areas. In India, the prime minister started “Make in India” initiative where in subsidies were given to the companies who could use local ingredients in their drugs, making it affordable and accessible to everyone.

In conclusion, it is very important to decrease the prices of the medicines in order to save more people and making it very easy to cure their ailments. The governments should focus on improving healthcare by not imposing taxes on companies that can use easily available elements to invent medicines thus making it affordable.