WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

People are dyeing of various diseases that are considered curable because they can’t afford the necessary medication. To overcome this issue, companies that sell medicines and drugs must provide at reduced rates. I agree with this argument because the results will be positive.

In undeveloped parts of the world, people are suffering from very common diseases like malaria, flu, polio, and smallpox etc., which are generally considered treatable with a little care, preventative measures and medication. However, they are losing their lives, because they can’t afford the cost required for the medicine. Moreover, the authorities are also not playing their part in the development of healthcare. It has been observed over the past many years that the health index is constantly dropping, in such countries, because they can’t afford routine checkups and drugs for curing. For example, in 2020 during the COVID-19 pandemic many people lost their lives due the same reason.

To overcome this situation, some individuals consider the taxes on medicines can be reduced, even subsidized medicines can be provided to the people. This will save many precious lives. The main reason behind lowering the price is that the wages of public in these countries are very low compared to other nations. For instance, in African countries the average daily wage is around a few cents per day. Although, for these companies profit margins can be reduced, but it will be helpful for the mankind.

In conclusion, I think governments and international organizations must pay attention to this issue, because these diseases are very common and mankind is suffering from them.