WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Many people think that modern technology has helped to bring people together. In the opposite side, others strongly believe that tecnology has weakened people connection, driving them apart. However, I disagree with this last argument due especially to the amazing power of connecting people in a fast way that modern technologies offers nowadays, a way of connection between humans that it was impossible to imagine some decades ago.

On the one hand, those who think that technology has driven people apart, support the idea that lately, especially during the last decade, people’s relationships have become colder, increasing consequently the amount of people who feel alone. The modern technology has brought us a large amount of entreating options that in some people, have created vices. Due to this, a large part of the population prefers to stay at home watching television or using any social media to feel connected instead of meet in a coffee shop and talk to them face-to-face.

Notwithstanding the above, and supporting the opposite idea that we mention briefly in the introduction, I strongly believe that moder technology has definitely help us to get people together, specially to whose who live long distance, or even abroad. In the past, people used to use letters to communicate, a method that took a long time to arrive to the destination, making even colder at the end the bonds. As an example, we can talk about long distance relationships or erasmus friends that students met abroad. Thanks to social media and internet, we can see their daily life and even communicate with them in a fast way, let us being always there.

To conclude, although we can find different but logical opinions on the matter, I strongly believe that technology despite its disadvantages, have helped to bring people together, speciale those who live far away, fact that without technology, would be impossible.