WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: A lot of money is spent nowadays searching for oil. As the world's oil resources will eventually run out, it would be more logical to spend some of this money on developing new sources of power, such as wind and solar. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

In today’s world, oil is one of the primary resources and is excessively used by majority of the countries worldwide. Although its usage is vital, mining and refining of oil is a costly process. Crude oil being an exhaustive resource, is bound to be replaced by a better alternative. I completely agree with the statement and will discuss why more funds should be used to develop new ways of generating power.

Many companies around the world are spending huge sums of money to mine oil from the seas and export it to other nations. A recent research by the Dubai Science journal proved that with passing years, it is getting more and more difficult to procure fuel and hence it is becoming an increasingly expensive process. As a result, the fuel prices around the world have spiked up in the last few years. For instance, to avoid the fuel charges, people have started switching to electric cars.

Having said that, scientists are now suggesting the use of other non-exhaustive resources. There are many other methods of generating electricity that are better for the environment and cost much less. Solar and wind energy being abundantly available on Earth, can be used for unlimited times to convert to other forms of energy. Governments of many countries are encouraging their citizens to install solar plants and wind turbines. If developed and used effectively, these can power factories, cars and entire cities. As an example, Vadodara, a city in Gujarat, India is recognized as the greenest city on the planet.

To conclude, even though oil is a convectional energy resource, it makes more sense to find newer and inexhaustive sources of power. Adapting to these newer sources has proven to not only promote sustainable lifestyles but is also cost effective. This essay has stated why it is crucial to invest on other resources to generate electricity.