Writing Task 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Many people no longer read newspapers or watch TV news programmes. Instead they get news about the world from the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development? You should write at least 250 words.

Many people have changed the source of information about the world from newspapers or TV news programs to the Internet. This essay will discuss its positive and negative impacts and give some examples.

On the one hand, changing the source of information might confuse some people. The world is changing in fast temps and the new technologies might be hard to use for individuals who gain information about the world by reading newspapers or watching TV news programs. Furthermore, the permanent usage of the internet would not be preferred by some individuals due to its addiction among a lot of people. For example, individuals who were using the internet for up to 8 hours per day needed to wear glasses after several years in case of bad vision.

On the other hand, the internet is the most effective way of searching for information about everything and anything. The internet will provide information about any type of question in detail, moreover, the internet is used by most of humanity. Therefore, people can communicate with each other from different parts of the world with no need to leave their houses. Additionally, the internet will give many more perspectives to individuals rather than news or TV. For instance, recent research shows that the group of people who always were available to use the internet were much more educated than the individuals with no access to the internet.

In conclusion, gaining information about the world by the internet is much more effective than reading newspapers or watching TV, although, the permanent usage of the internet might cause significant problems to the health and to the individual. Therefore, I consider it a positive development.