Writing task 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries around the world, rural residents are moving to cities, Consequently, the population in the countryside decreases. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? List the reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from Your knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is a common belief that in the modern era, people in the countryside are shifting to cities in many countries; that is why masses in the countryside is declining all over the world. This essay will demonstrate the negative sides of moving towards cities, like the environmental pollution, the rising population density, the heavy traffic, and the labor shortage.

On the one hand, there are numerous bad impacts of rural-to-urban migration on urban infrastructure and resources. First and foremost, the environmental pollution in town areas is increasing day by day because a large number of people have moved to urban areas. For example, Dhaka city in Bangladesh has resulted in unplanned urbanization. Another striking point is that cities often struggle to accommodate the influx of people, leading to overcrowding, heavy traffic, and housing shortages.

For instance, most of the time young and skilled people leave in search of better opportunities, and as a result, rural regions suffer labor shortages, which reduce agricultural production.

On the other hand, urban migration can bring some benefits as well. To start off with, a person who migrated to a metropolitan area can access better education and healthcare. More specifically, there are more opportunities, like a better income source and many employment opportunities.

In conclusion, it is clear that while rural-to-urban migration offers potential benefits for individuals, it has a negative impact on urban sustainability. However, I believe that the government should focus on balanced development by improving rural infrastructure and creating job facilities to reduce excessive migration to cities.