Writing Task 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people think news has no connection to people's lives, so it is a waste of time to read the news in newspapers and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree? You should write at least 250 words.

A part of the population belives that news do not affect people’s lives; consequently, reading the newspaper and watching television news programs is a waste of time. Personally, I disagree with this affermation. I belive that, knowing what is happening in the world, is important. We, as a society, need to know the ongoing conflicts of the world, and also the problems that are afflicting our country and other people’s lives.

News are a fundamental comunication instrument. Listening and reading about world issues is a necessity, because we live in a world where everything is sistematically connected; so, what is happening in a different part of the world, has an impact in our everyday lives. For instance, when Russia attached Ucraina, petrol prices rose in every country. Without caring about foreign conflicts, we would not understand why some events take place.

Also, thanks to the news, we can control government actions, making sure that they are doing what is best for our country; focusing on important matters, rather than using public money to satisfy their own interests.

In addition, on the news, local problems are being talked about; for example, the rising phenomenon of female homicides, and young people dying from overdose and alcol addiction. Listening or reading about those matters can make us be aware of similar patterns, preventing their repetition.

In conclusion, I want to highlight how important it is to be an active citizen, fighting for our rights and for equality. Being aware of the world situation is essential, because we have the power to change it, to make things right. News are not fantasy novels, they are pieces of someone else’s life. Someday, we could end up on the news, therefore I advise everyone to follow them.