WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

There are many people that think technology is going to make people closer to each other, while some consider technology is going to make people have less interaction. In my view, I believe that technology will give us many benefits if we can use it in a positive way.

Let’s begin by looking at how technology will make us understand each other more. First of all, it is easier to work as a team. There are many new technologies such as smartphones, smartwatches, and applications. For example, when we are working at home, we can have an instant online meeting with our co-workers to accomplish projects. In addition, it helps people to improve communication to another level. When you use social media applications such as Facebook or TikTok, you can reach out to your peers or someone who lives outside your country quickly and in no time.

On the other hand, there is also a significant downside that we need to consider. Firstly, some people lack confidence if they only focus on social media. We already see some TikTokers who can dance or sing on the TikTok platform, but when we meet them outside, they are shy. For instance, if you spend more time on social media, you will get nervous when you are outdoors with your peers. Secondly, many people get addicted to technology and do not involve themselves in social activities. For example, some people use VR technology for more than 15 hours per day, so they cannot hang out with their co-workers or friends. As a result, they lose friendships and connections and do not have enough confidence.

In short, many of us think that technology is going to improve people’s relationships, such as working as a team and improving our communication with each other. However, some people say that it will make us far from each other because it negatively impacts social skills and confidence. In my view, I think it would be better if we use technology in the right way, such as for research, working, or chatting, but we should also limit the hours we spend using technology.