Writing Task 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people say free time activities for children should be organized by parents. Others say that children should be free to choose what they do in their free time. Discuss both views and give your opinion. You should write at least 250 words.

In the society that we live in today, some people say that leisure activities for kids should be orchestrated by parents while the others say that children should be given the opportunity to choose what they do in their free time. Parents organise activities for their kids because they believe that at that age, children are clueless on what to do meanwhile, others choose to let their kids pick what they want because kids put effort in things they like. I stand with the notion of the latter.

Arguably, children can be clueless at that age and it seems best for parents to choose for them. There are situations when kids pick what they like instead of what is best for them which can affect them in the future because, they could have an unstable mind as well as, sorting for change and if not gotten could lead to a terrible mental health . Although there are debates over the years with picking wants over needs or the other with children picking mostly doing nothing than doing something better

However, letting kids pick on their own allows for better result due to the effort being made, children that are given opportunities to select mostly explore and pick the best that they can handle, some of them find themselves reading, doing sports or even engaging in music which is a foundation of acquiring talents. For example, LAYI a successful comedian and skitmaker in Nigeria spoke about how he started, he said in his words “during my free time i usually write some lines with good rhyming words that seems funny and I will call my friends and say them to make them laugh”. That already was te beginning of his journey into success.

In conclusion, Parents choose for their childs because they believe that dont know what is best for them. I strongly support the people that said it is better to let them choose what they would do in their free time. I believe that everyone has their individual talents and in order for them to realise it, they need to be given opportunities to explore and choose because that is when effort is made.