WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

One of the most arguable topics about education in universties is the importance of additional subjects. Some people value them, while others dedicate all their time to their major. In my point of view, extra subjects should be compulsory for every student, as it could direct our life path profoundly.

To begin with, one of the negative opinions about such topic is about that most of these subjects seem to be valueless, as they suppose that a student who studied hard and passed all the exams deserves an education focused on their interests and nothing more. For instance, a medicine bachelor could not have any focus on philosophy. Mandatory addional subjects can easily distract anyone and even lead to overburn in reason of overstudying.

On the contrary, such opportunities could be crucial for anyone’s life path. There are multiple cases where a person decided to take a course in university and it became their passion field. Focusing on only one direction is significantly deteriorating society, as it may hide unrevealed talents. As such decision became even more frequent, some of the institutions became supportive for changes. For example, the educational system in the United States provides a change of major within the degree and it is a popular option.

Taking everything into consideration, I would suggest that trying various options is vital for a comprehensive intelligence. However, if a student wants to focus on their dream only, the university must give it. It will help him to become a real professional and be more successful.