WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Entering college is a big step in a scholar’s life, as they start to focus on learning the material they need for their future. However, many universities offer clubs and classes that they may choose to take without any limitation based on their majors. While it is important to immerse students in their chosen subject, I believe learners should be encouraged to take additional subjects on top of their focused major.

On one side of the coin, deepening learners’ education on their main subjects serves them the required materials to fulfill their education and achieve an expert level on their major. Continuously filling this jar of knowledge would help solidify their working stage in life, while juggling multiple subjects at once may lead to less depth in their prioritized subject. For instance, if you were to study playing the guitar and doing pottery, the regular need to back and forth between the two may lead to only gaining the basic skills without deepening the expertise to do either of them.

On the other side of the coin, learning a side skill on top of their main subject is beneficial for peers to develop more skills to unlock more pathways in their future. Mainly giving your attention to more than one subject may lead to expanding your knowledge and creating a bridge between them. For example, the major biotechnology was born from creating a connection between biology and technology. This subject wouldn’t be found if everyone only focused on expanding their knowledge in a specific major without considering learning additional materials.

In conclusion, while it may be a struggle to balance more than the required quota for your education, making time to learn an additional subject can lead to expanding your knowledge and ability to create. The curiosity to expand education more than their main subject should be promoted among scholars to unlock more fields that can be effective and resourceful for the future.