You have approximately 40 minutes to complete this task. You need to write an essay addressing the topic below: Most countries aim to improve their standard of living through economic development, but many important social values can be lost as a result. Do the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Your essay should comprise a minimum of 250 words.

In recent times, most countries have enhanced their living standards via economic development. However, certain social values may disappear. From my perspective, the benefits have been overshadowed by the drawbacks.

One notable demerit of this phenomenon is that the environment is significantly degraded. Specifically, employees endeavor to produce more and reduce operational costs, which can be more profitable for them. What they do is that they keep discharging wastewater into waterways, such as rivers, lakes, and oceans, which can lead to water pollution. For instance, in Vietnam nowadays, there is an accumulative number of factories that discharge unprocessed water directly into the To Lich River. Thus, this river is gradually polluted and experiences rancidity. Another drawback is that people gradually lose sympathy and concern for others. In other words, individuals may spend most of their time accomplishing their work without concerning themselves with other people. For example, in a certain family, parents may pay too much attention to their work to earn a living, but they may ignore their children. This can lead to a lack of sympathy and also depression in their children.

However, the benefits of this trend cannot be ignored. The people’s quality of life is guaranteed. Specifically, taxes paid by individuals and businesses are a stable resource for the government to construct and improve more important facilities, such as hospitals and schools. Therefore, the quality of people’s lives can be improved significantly.

In conclusion, while the financial revolution may offer benefits related to guaranteeing people’s lives, it also has some profound demerits, such as issues relevant to the environment and family affection. In addition, the government should impose strict laws to improve the state of the current environment.