You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people say that there is too much harmful content on the internet. They say the only way to make the internet safe is for the government to censor the content of websites. To what extent do you think the government should control what information is available on the internet? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The large amount of harmful content accessible on the internet has created concern among the public. As a result, some people believe the government should exert control by censoring unsafe content to protect their citizens. While I agree that vulnerable groups in society must be protected from such sources, I strongly believe it is essential that governments protect the public’s free access to information.

Government censoring of dangerous content would protect vulnerable groups, such as children and young people online, who tend to be impressionable. However, across-the-board restrictions may be seen as controlling, as people think it is the guardian’s responsibility to monitor their children’s use of the internet. For instance, streaming websites such as YouTube have parental control settings so parents can decide what videos their children can consume.

However, it is challenging for parents to control everything their children access online. In this condition, government censorship is needed, especially to safeguard teenagers who can access any type of content directly from their mobile phones. Therefore, it is crucial for the government to ban some harmful websites or apply stricter age restrictions to access potentially offensive platforms, so parents can rest assured.

In conclusion, although some censorship and restriction are needed, I believe that it should balance with the people’s freedom to access information. What is considered harmful is not always crystal clear and may differ from person to person. Although some sources of racist and extreme fascist content arguably should be banned, it is essential that our rights to gain information and freedom to express must be protected.