You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

There is no denying the fact that a lot of countries today provide food that is produced from different parts around the world. While it is a commonly held belief that buying international food is a positive development, some people argue against it. In my opinion, I consider that consuming food from various countries is a positive sign of improvement for the country.

To begin with, offering different types of food in supermarkets reflects the diversity of the country, as people are not limited to local food only. In other words, tasting the other types allows people to learn about these cultures, such as their spices, cooking methods. In addition, comparing the various cuisines has a huge effect on improving local food. For example, discovering unusual spices or mixing other togethers can produce new flavours.

Another point to consider, some countries have a large number of foreign workers, so offering food diversity helps them to access food from home. It is possible to say that having food from the their home country increases workers’ productivity. Moreover, imported food saves time as preparing homemade versions of foreign cuisines for the first time requires a lot of time and effort. For instance, making sushi is a long process that involves preparing rice, fish or meat, and many people don’t have time or equipment for it.

In conclusion, despite people having various views, I believe that importing food from other countries has a positive impact for the whole society, including both workers and local people.