You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries, childhood obesity is a growing problem. What are the reasons for this and what can individuals and governments do to tackle the problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In recent years, obesity in the very early stages of life is a rapidly growing issue, especially in the U.S. In this essay, its two main causes and what both individuals and institutions can do to curb the problem will be discussed.

The first common reason is an addiction to over-processed foods and beverages, most of them full of sugars. Sugar addiction is a growing problem. Children begin to consume these goods from their very early years. They are induced into an addiction, which makes it hard for them to quit sugar consumption. The second relevant reason is a new trend of sedentarism. Children no longer practice as many outdoor sports as their peers did many years ago. Access to many new technologies and videogames often makes the new generations lazier and less inclined to expend energy outdoors.

Although it is not too late, there are solutions that can tackle the problem. One of them starts with parents’ education. Families need to be present and conscious in order to raise children with strong ideas. They must stimulate newborns to engage in sports and to be healthy, especially by instilling good dietary habits. Governments must take the situation of heavily processed food under control. They must make restrictions, thus pushing for a more rigid chain of food production. Some countries, especially in Europe, are already implementing strategies to have a more sustainable and green production of food, giving incentives for the production of bio and organic products.