You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. It is commonly believed that nowadays main factors that affect a child's development are media, pop culture and friends. A different point of view is that family plays the most significant role. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Write at least 250 words.

Currently it is widely accepted that social media, pop culture and peers give a predominant impact on children’s identity formation. While the proponents accede toward the judgement, critics contend that the crucial role is remained by family. In my opinion, the foundation of values and principals is built by parents.

On the one hand, teens attempt to socialise with peers during their school time and try to emulate peers’ and media stars’ behaviour. The process of socialisation is an important part of formative identity, but sometimes peers instil abnormal habits.Scholars from the Canadian Research Centre conducted an investigation among teenagers who were aged the same. Pupils had had three different situations, where they had to choose the close decision for themselves. The research demonstrated that the peers’ attitude is influenced by teens and they are ready to conform to the teens’ group norms in order to get their approval.

On the other hand, from the moment of birth a person grows and develops in a family and notices the habits and values of his relatives. To illustrate, other research from Cambridge University among individuals, who have the same age, showed that teens have chosen the view that was based on values, which parents built.

I believe that both points can exist, but I accede to a group, which accepts that the main role remains behind the family. I think that the most crucial viewpoint for personal life was built in childhood by parents and relatives.

To conclude, both statements have proponents and critics and these points have depth research that affirm their truthfulness.