You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

By virtue of technological development, online shopping has been an increasing tendency in contemporary society. Hence, this has sparked a disputation about the merits and the hindrances arising. From my perspective, such a phenomenon is a positive development.

To clarify, I am persuaded that internet shopping does accompany several risks such as online scamming. To elaborate, this means the customers may received the wrong package, a low-quality product or a replica piece. In case the aforementioned circumstance is a mistake, the problem could be resolved, notwithstanding, this is not always the case. Besides, the conveniences obtained from online purchasing platforms could lure people into buying things they want rather than what they need. Therefore, with a few hours scrolling through the phone, people could spend a fortune on e-shopping websites. For instance, a 16-year-old Chinese girl was recorded to have ordered over 75 products on the mentioned platform, which summed up to over $2000 and they were all paid by her credit card and non-refundable.

Nonetheless, there are several advantages people can benefit from such a development, noticeably the conveniences it brings. For example, in lieu of driving to restaurants and stores for a meal, people who are snowed under with homework and deadlines could utilise time finishing them while ordering food to their place. Furthermore, when purchasing a heavy product, shipping it home could be a laborious task. Meanwhile, the analogous result could be achieved just at the fingertips. Moreover, this phenomenon not only benefits the customers but also the shops and the sellers. Instead of waiting for the clients to come, stores are now able to connect with customers from abroad the country and vice versa. Hence, the geographical barrier will be demolished, which may not only help to skyrocket sales but also provide a vast range of products for the buyers to decide.

In conclusion, online shopping does conceal some unintentional threats to both customers and sellers. However, its benefits outweigh its drawbacks. Besides, the aforementioned disadvantages could be avoided by being more careful by buying thing online and keep a record of online spending.