You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic Forests are the lungs of the earth. Destruction of the world’s forests amounts to death of the world we currently know. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It’s a well-established fact that forests are the lungs of the earth, thereby it’s said that the extermination of the world’s forests amounts to the end of the world we currently know. I personally believe that this statement is entirely true.

To begin with, if the Earh was a living body, forests would be the lungs of that body due to the reason that forests help to produce healthy air for creatures to respire. Firstly, forests trees turn carbon dioxide into oxygen through a process called photosynthesis. Without forests a huge amount of air will become unbreathable because of lacking oxygen, thereby the environment on Earth will be harder to live. Secondly, the atmosphere of our home planet has been severely polluted by human activities such as discharge of industrial waste without proper treatment, exhaust gas from vehicles, etc. Our green forests play a major role in air pollution reduction by filtering out contaminants, therefore the death of woodland will surely lead to the world apocalypse in the foreseeable future.

Furthermore, green forests cool the Earth thanks to their large canopies acting as a big roof of our planet and absorbing a significant amount of heat from the Sun. The foliage area of jungles can be estimated up to thousands of hectares. The loss of these natural air-conditional means the rise in the Earth temperature. Consequently, many life forms on Earth, which cannot tolerate the change in temperature, will be pushed to the verge of extinction. Not only that, many living habitats will be diminished because of rising temperatures and humans won’t be exceptional. When the Earth becomes hotter, ice in hemispheres will melt, thereby polar animals such as seadog, polar bear, and penguin ‘s living area will shrink. Additionally, melted ice turning into water and increases the sea level results in a vast area of land sinks in water.

The disappearance of forests is detrimental to the existence of many lives on Earth due to many forementioned important parts of its roles. Therefore, protecting our green forests can be seen as the line between life and death of our current planet.