You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic Forests are the lungs of the earth. Destruction of the world’s forests amounts to death of the world we currently know. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some scientific research should not be understood because of its dangerousness. In recent society, a large number of scientists desire to make today’s science more sophisticated. However, this trend does not necessarily bring about positive influences. For instance, gene modification technology does harm to natural creatures including human beings.

In the late twentieth century, one scientist created a clone of a sheep called Dolly, which has supported the foundation of modern science. However, while some researchers welcomed this innovative technology, others insisted that this genetic development would contribute to the destruction of the ecosystem. In many cases genetically manipulated animals and plants are much stronger than natural ones. Therefore, wild creatures will be on the brink of extinction. If we humans continued to develop the genetic field, it would not be so long before our earth became the planet without any wild flora and fauna.

Gene manipulation also causes adverse effects to human beings. These days, genetically modified food is becoming common. Genetically manipulated crops are resistant to insects, so farmers can grow crops without using pesticides. However, genetic manipulation has more serious influences than insects do. For example, once people take GM food into their bodies, it gradually inflicts damage on organs, aggravating their function. What is worse, if this influence reached brains, you might be unable to return to healthy lives. Although you cannot detect this damage in daily lives, such food will definitely cause severe damage in the foreseeable future.

To sum up, we should not recognize genetic technology as a true science because there is a possibility to inflict severe damage on both human beings and wild creatures.