You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Life expectancy is growing in numerous countries in comparison with past. While aging demoghraphic is considered to have issues for countries by some groups, other individuals claim that old population can have advantages for the contry. In my view, I agree that the aging public are more problematic rather than beneficial as they need more attention and country’s fund.

On the one hand, the society can benefit from elderly population. They are a valuable resources of the culture and some traditions for the country. They can not only share their experience with younger ones but also help them to not repeat their mistakes again. Moreover they can play a crucial role in growing up their grandchildren and asisst their own children. China is a good example of this which ask the grandparents to have role in nurturing their grandchildren, while grandchildren’s parents are at work. Through this, they can convey their culture and national values to the young generation.

On the other hand,some opponents believe that aging individuals are a sensetive group of society and have more challenges. They are neither productive nor creative for the country at all but consumer. They need to be supported by government, and society should allocate funds to enhance elderly people’ life and take care of them. They need special care in many areas such as physical health, mental health, and their daily chores. Consequently, the government ought to spend money for a group that do not have economical benefits for country. For instance, many European countries face with aging their population and they are worried about declining their labour force and its subsequent financial downturn.

In conclusion, although elderly ones are rich resources for the country and their experience is influential, I think that their financial impacts on society is more disadvantageous compared to their benefits.