You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In recent years, average life expentency has increased. Now in most of the countries, sitizens live longer than before, thanks to the modern healthcare system, technologies and etc. While this is a positive information, some people think that an elderly people is a big problem for government. However, in reality ageing population have a positive impact on our society.

Firtly, older people recieve a pension from our government. The money for this is provided from the budget. Paying a pension for ageing population rips the budget. However, we can not cross the line on morality. Elder people have already lived their life. Therefore, when they are retiring, it is their right to leave peacefully. They contibuted to the country, payed the bills and now country have to take care of these people.

Secondly, information comes from our ancestors. Elder people accumulated knowledge and one of the main purpose of this process is to share knowledge with other people. Listening to old people’s experiences is a game changer for a future population and a society. According to the interviews conducted in Japan, most of the youth thinks that ageing population is a treasure of a knowledge and experiences. Therefore, one of the main aims of individuals should be protecting elders at all cost.

In conclusion, while elderly people tightens the budget, we can not consider them as parasites. They build a society that we live in and they are sharing their knowledge only to benefit us. Therefore, advantages of having elders slightly combats disadvantages and reminds us how crucial are them to a society.