You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people believe that giving longer prison sentences is the best way to reduce crime. Others believe that there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion. You should write at least 250 words.

The jail sentence are not only given as punishment, it is also considered as the chance for the criminal to reform their life. Some notion of people argue that the increase in jail time can minimize the chances of crime, while others think there are various way to decrease the crime rate.

On the one side, the increase in duration of jail time can provide more time to rectify the mistakes. In the past decade, the petty crime rate has decreased which happened exactly after the punishment got severe. Even for those petty crime we need to serve six month imprisonment, which created a fear and awareness in the people. The government provide various facility to the prisoners to help them reform their life after release, such as library and other occupational programs which can help them gain physical and mental strength to lead a confident life.

On the other hand, the exposure in the prison can also develop a bad influence on the prisoner and their life. The life experience from other cell mates and prison mates can change the perspective on the ideology of life. To overcome these negative influence, many suggest that we can conduct a psychological session to destroy the root cause that triggered to involve in the crime and build hope to lead a healthy and positive life.

To sum up, the duration of the prison time can be beneficial for only people who do not realize the mistake they have made. In my perspective, the government need to conduct more programs for the prisoners to develop the skill and healthy mindset to face the life after their release.