You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people believe that giving longer prison sentences is the best way to reduce crime. Others believe that there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion. You should write at least 250 words.

Crime is a pervasive and significant issue across the globe and countries are addressing the pressing issue of crime rates. Some proponents argue that extended prison sentences can help reduce crime, while others say that there are more effective strategies to address this issue. This essay will discuss both viewpoints.

On the one hand, many proponents contend that offenders should be punished with a longer prison sentence because this practice can deter potential crime by instilling a fear of punishment such as loss of freedom or not reintegrating into the community. As a consequence, people will be aware of serious punishments, which will lead to a decrease in the crime rate. Consider the UAE as an example, rapists and murderers are typically convicted to life imprisonment, which reduces the threat to society, and individuals will carefully consider before committing a crime, Hence, imposing strict punishments, such as increased prison sentences, acts as a deterrent to people committing crimes in the future.

Conversely, I strongly believe that there are more effective methods that offer solutions to decrease potential crime. Firstly, the government can educate people about the law, thus enhancing their knowledge and awareness related to the law and discouraging them from engaging in criminal activity. Secondly, authorities providing suitable employment opportunities can deter individuals from crime. Additionally, the implementation of surveillance camera systems in public spaces can deter crime and improve safety. For instance, Beijing’s extensive surveillance system, for example, facilitates monitoring activity and faster response times to criminal incidents, so authorities can effectively identify and apprehend suspects.

In conclusion, while some advocate for longer prison sentences as a crime deterrent, others propose alternative solutions. I strongly maintain that alternative methods present more effective and humane approaches to reducing crime.