You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In many developed societies, with the advent of modern technology, the massive production of driverless vehicles has resulted in more people opting this way of traveling as passengers instead of drivers. This will result in people relying solely on driverless cars in the future decades. While some people believe that driverless cars will have a negative impact on society, I am of the opinion that the advantages of self- driving cars outweigh the disadvantages.

One of the main benefits of self- driving cars is related to the reduction in the number of road accidents due to distracted drivers. Compared to regular cars, driverless cars rely on advanced technology that has been tested for engineers and professionals in different areas over decades before launching these cars to the market. There have been some recent studies suggesting that the mortality rates due to car accidents have reduced significantly since driverless cars have been used. In other words , self-driving cars have proven to be safer than conventional cars as less people have died on the roads in car accidents.

Another major benefit related to self-driving cars is attributed to the positive impact that these cars have on the environment and people’s health. Conventional cars have contributed to the rise of CO2 emissions and this has caused an increase in the air pollution which negatively impacts people’s health. Since the launch of self-driving cars, the amount of CO2 emissions have reduced considerably and there are less people suffering from respiratory diseases caused by the emissions in the environment. (3:46pm)

To sum up, the use of driverless cars has more advantages than disadvantages when it comes to minimising accidents on the road, less health- related issues related to CO2 emissions and cleaner air.