You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

While some animals are almost extinct, other species are also endangered. In this essay, I will explain why there is an increase in the extinction in the animal kingdom and define what we can do to mitigate the risk.

To begin with, each species of animal lives in a different habitat and requires different types of care. Animals that are sold through the black market face a bigger risk of the destruction of their ecosystem. For example, the growing popularity of Alaskan Malamute has led people who live in tropical countries, like Indonesia, to purchase this breed despite knowing that this species needs to live in a cold place. With the loss of their natural habitat, animals struggle to procreate and this can result in the extinction of their species.

Another reason why certain types of creatures are hard to find is because of the continuous hunting activity, mainly for commercial reasons. There are several companies, largely in the fashion industry, that invest a huge amount of money specifically in animal skin. Since the demand for goods made of animal parts exceeds the supply, businesses have the upper hand in selling the products at higher prices and continue to fulfill the customers’ requests to bring more products into the market. This type of commercial activity has led to the decline of certain animal species.

Despite everything that happens, we play a part in making sure that we protect the animals and lower the risk of them going extinct. One way of reducing the risk is to encourage fashion businesses to produce items using synthetic fabric that looks like animal skin. Another way that we can do this is to encourage our society to adopt animals instead of buying them, and to adopt pets whose natural habitats are where we live – ensuring their lives are safe and that they can reproduce.