You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. People think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others believe that there are other alternative solutions for reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion on this topic. You should write at least 250 words.

There is a long lasting debate about the best way to decrease crime worldwide. Some people think by lengthen the prison sentences, while others believe that there are other effective methods.

Primarily, many individuals think that the longer imprisonment sentence the lower the crimes. Actually, the fear of long prison stay is a critical factor that causes people think seriously before doing any crime. They hate the idea of being in jail and waste their precious time. As noticed crimes with longer prison sentence happen at much lower rate compared to ones with shorter sentence. A reliable report published two years ago revealed that the rate of crimes with 10 years sentence was noticeably lower in comparison with crimes with 2 years sentence. That’s why expanding imprisonment period considered effective way to reduce criminal behavior among individuals.

Moving to other solutions for reducing crime, some people suppose that higher fines and imprisonment with hard labour are more effective in reducing crime. As people hate losing money, they would be more careful on their behavior to avoid any crimes. In addition, hard labour without reward in prison is something intolerable and humiliating. A TV program about criminals revealed that, after interviewing number of past criminals, the most common reasons that prevent them from doing more crimes were the high fines and hard labour.

In conclusion, in the light to what proposed before I think that all these are important and practical solutions and they should be implemented to reduce criminal rate.