You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. People think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others believe that there are other alternative solutions for reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion on this topic. You should write at least 250 words.

Every society has its norms , values, beliefs as well as rules and regulations, all of these are there to enhance harmonious and peacefull society. Despite shared norms, values and beliefs, understanding varies from a person to another, thus difference in handling crime, where some believe to reduce crime by extended prison sentences, others believe that there are other options out there to manage crimes.

Some of the proposers of the longer prison sentences, claim that imprisoning individuals who commited crimes will reduce the number of criminals out there in the society, and set an example to others who might attempt such crimes, hence peace and safety. For instance, sentencing a person who sexually abuse a child under 18 should spend much time behind that walls reduced number of young people who are harassed for their bodies.

On the other hand, opponents to longer prison sentences justify their point, by saying that there are alternative strategies to reduce crime. They say that instead of long stay in prison, the sentence can be served in other ways such as pressing charges on the criminal. Ironically, Pressing charges is very common in most countries world wide.

From my perspective, I strongly agree that there are other options of how to reduce crimes other than long prison sentence. Some of the ways that can be adopted to minimize the crime is strengthening community security services, pressing charges to those found guilty, or let the criminal engage in activities that benefits the society using their strength.

In conslusion, not all strategies need to be draining, they can be helpfull to both the society and the individual.