You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree? You should write at least 250 words.

In the contemporary societal landscape, there is an ongoing debate as to whether increasing the legal age for driving a car or motorbike is the best option to improve road safety or if some other measures could help the situation. These contradictory statements create contention that require comprehensive explanation.

Proponents of increasing the legal age for driving have manifold reasons to back up their stance. Firstly, the majority of the road accidents happening all around the world involves either minor drivers or new drivers. In some countries legal driving age is as low as 16 years, which results in an impatient and untrained drivers on the road. For example, in the USA, legal age for driving in most of the states is 16 years and these drivers are involved in major traffic violations. Secondly, if the age for driving is increased, it will ensure mature behaviour among drivers, ultimately reducing occurrence of road rage as well.

On the other hand, opponents of increasing the legal age abide by the notion of flaws in the system, that might require numerous alterations. According to them, most of the tests conducted for drivers license are way to lenient all across the globe and its innate flaws need to be fixed before fixating on the legal age for driving. Moreover, in many nations, tests are conducted in an isolated environment, where outside traffic is not taken into consideration. For instance, in India, there are separate test routes constructed in an open area that has no link with real world driving. Therefore, governments should ameliorate these kinds of issues rather than increasing driving age.

In conclusion, it is imperative that increasing the legal age for driving is an ephemeral solution. So it requires a more wholesome approach that can emphasize on overall enhancement of road safety system. The government and society must work hand in hand by implementing strict testing measures and road safety rules.