You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Part of university students would like to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects, whereas others think it is more rewarding to study only their qualification courses during all their free time. In my opinion, students shouldn’t study their main subjects all the time because it can be a reason for their demotivation.

On the one hand, some people think that if they spend all their time studying only a few necessary subjects, they will gain more good knowledge. In many ways, this idea came from ancient China where many philosophers thought that children had to learn only one subject instead of several. They thought that if a student trains only in one area, they will become a master. It was a widespread opinion at that time. Students focused only on one field, especially in single-sex universities. Girls couldn’t learn a lot of subjects like physics and astronomy.

On the other hand, nowadays, if students study only their main subject all the time, it will be able to create some problems for them. For instance, a lot of students enter university with a misconception. They can realize that it was the wrong decision after a few months. So, if they have additional time to study other subjects, they will be able to like them. It can diversify their awareness and sometimes change the mainstream.

In conclusion, it should be an individual decision. I think university students ought not to limit themselves and spend all their time studying for a qualification. They should pay attention to other subjects and explore diverse knowledge.