You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Many packaged food and beverages tend to contain high level of cane sugars, the reason might be to enhance the taste, which causes many health problems such as diabetes, cavities, obesity, and many more. Some believe that making the sugary products expensive could discourage people to consume less sugar; however, I believe that it is better to replace the refined cane sugars and artificial sweetener with alternatives and setting a permissible level of sugar in the manufactured goods.

Most people has a sweet tooth and has always been consuming sweet drinks and food, and are not bothered by the price of the sugary products. Replacing the synthetic sugar and the cane sugar, which is bad for health consuming too much, with other good sweetener such as fruit sugar, honey, and dates, should be encouraged so as to control the health problems caused by the higher amount of refined sugar. For instance, using dates to add sweet taste instead of artificial sweetener and cane sugar in the process of manufacturing beverages and food products. Some manufacturing companies are already replacing the bad sugars with honey as an alternative. This could be a great help to control the bad effects of such sugary products causing illnesses.

Moreover, the high level of sugary products in the packaged foods can be controlled by setting a standard level which shoul not be exceeded by the manufacturers. For instance, the food control authorities can encourage the food companies to decrease the higher levels of artificial sweeteners, not crossing the permissible levels set by the higher authorities. Additionally, making it compulsary for the food manufacturers to undergo inspection by the HACCP ( Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point) will also help in the control of people consuming high amount of sugar.

Although some argue that increasing the price of sugary products could be an encouragement for the people to consume high levels of sugar, people could consume it unbothered by its expensiveness. Some poor people might decrease the sugar consumption due to their financial status; however, other people with good finance might not do so.

All in all, although there might be some effects of making the sugary products expensive in terms of discouraging the people to eat less sugary products; nevertheless, I believe resorting to other methods such as using sugar alternatives such as fructose, honey, dates, and decreasing the sugar contents in the food and drinks by setting a limit could be helpful to control the health problems caused by the higher consumption of bad sugars by the people.