You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic Forests are the lungs of the earth. Destruction of the world’s forests amounts to death of the world we currently know. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, smart devices, especially computers and mobile phones are more and more often used for communication. Due to some reasons, there’s an opinion stating that using new technologies for communication purposes negatively affects writing and reading skills of young people. I incline to agree with the stated view. This essay is going to provide a number of arguments supporting this belief.

First of all, nearly all modern technical devices are equipped by smart keyboards or orthographic checkers. This means that there is no a necessity anymore to always verify if a particular word is written correctly: smartphone’s keyboard will automatically correct misspelling, while computer will emphasize it. For example, I often have to type rather fast and when I text a message, some of my misprintings are fixed. That is why I believe young people care less about their writing skills and are more likely to make a mistake.

On the other hand, it is much easier today to find information for any topic, so this leads to a decline in overall quantity of time devoded to reading and finding required information in long texts, and, in this way a lack of practice is faced. There’s no longer a need to go to a library and search through lots of books: you can such google and instanty get an answer to your question consisting of several sentences. For example, one of my friends had to write an essay devoted to principles of management: instead of reading lots of paragraths, he just used internet resources and found exact things he needed. That is why I believe that modern technologies really (truly?) hurt reading skills of the youth.

To sum up, I agree that new devices do not influence in a positive way the reading and writing competences of young people. At first, autocorrection of misspelling and grammar mistakes decrease the necessity to check the correctness of words, and, finally there is a lack of practice of reading long texts.