You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

A large amount of processed food and drink items have astounding levels of sugar which may lead to numerous health issues in the near future. The price range of these sugary products needs to be spiked in order for people to ingest less monosaccharides. I highly agree with this statement, however, the result may not be as expected.

Obesity and cardiovascular diseases are on a rise during current times and are not expected to decline in the foreseeable future, and sugar is the root cause of the problem. At first, a diet consisting of high-sugar intake will ultimately lead to obesity, which further welcomes new diseases such as hypertension and cardiac arrest. For instance, a person that weights more than his average BMI has 40% more chance of experiencing a heart attack than people who are of average weight.

So if obesity is the leading cause of all health problems, then tackling the source would be the most appropriate approach. Thus, many argue that sugary products should be made more expensive so that it’s not easily reachable, especially for teenagers who over consume fizzy drinks and other fatty products. This approach will consequently function in two ways; first one being that less people will be able to afford it and second, they will redirect to items much cheaper and with possibly less sugar content.

However, this solution may have its drawbacks. At first, it’s a huge setback for companies that sell these products which result in bankruptcy. In addition, it might not even work, as people are willing to pay an extra amount for these items as they are so accustomed to its presence.

To conclude, it is praiseworthy to tackle this issue which affects more than 60% of population today, however, other solutions should be sought in order to have a much more guaranteed result.