You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

A majority of the items in the processed food market are packed with intense levels of sugar, leading to significant health issues. I firmly believe that raising the costs of these products is an excellent way to sway people from purchasing them, even if it seems too extreme.

People may not like the fact that they find it extremely hard to buy manufactured snacks due to the expensive prices. Processed foods have become a norm that a large proportion of households use, and have been using for decades, to enjoy themselves. This could be to have snacks while watching a movie as a family, or indulging in some ice cream for dessert. This shift in prices could cause mass opposition and protests due to how addicted we as a civilization have become to eating factory made food. These protests may have severe backlashes on the government and the community as a whole.

However, obesity and the risk of severe health problems are on the rise and we need a way to prevent this epidemic. Lifting the prices may receive negative responses, but I feel that people have lost the ability to care for themselves, and hence for the public’s safety we need to use this method. High body fat percentages are not just among the elites, but also prevail amongst the middle and lower class citizens due to the convenient affordability of these junk foods. We need to instill the notion in people’s minds that these unhealthy snacks are items that should be savored only once in a while, similar to how a person may treat themselves to a new handbag or some new clothes after long periods of saving their incomes. Therefore, processed foods need to be transformed into a possibility not a necessity.

In conclusion, I stand by my opinion of making sugary and processed produce more expensive, with the hopes of preventing people from indulging in them frequently. Negative criticism of this method is an unavoidable situation, but we must ignore it and work for the betterment of our societies.