You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Citizens of plenty of nations are at the present time having higher life expectancy than ever before which has caused increase in the number of elderly people. It is often believed that this rise of number of old aged peoples invites various hurdles to the government while some people argue that this issue on the other hand will bring numerous advantages to the community as a whole. Personally, I feel that although it has both sides but the advantages will surely outweigh the drawbacks.

Country having high number of aging individuals, invites number of burden mainly on the national level. Firstly, there is created a pressure to the government side so as to provide old aged allowances for the citizens who are old enough cannot be engage in the work. This thus leads to sum up the responsibilities from the economic point of view. To take an example, in Nepal, legislature have provision to give allowance of certain amount of money to every people above sixty five years age. Besides, the country will also have low proportion of potential manpower, who could lead a country in the path of development, which as a result hinders the modernization of the nation.

However, we cannot ignore the value and importance of the elderly people who give crucial benefits in the local level. Beginning with the inheritance of moral value, culture and tradition that they flow to the following generations, is very substantial. It is the grandparents who teach good habits as well as importance of own tradition to their children and grandchildren in a family. Nevertheless, if any problem arises in a society, anything small to crucial trouble then the experiences and advices of the old people will be valuable and they are the often the one whose decision matters the most because of their lifelong lesson which cannot be matched by the young generations. For instance, in the village area of Nepal, decisions and suggestions of old people carries a lots of weight.

To conclude, although there is economic burden and also decline in workers for development, but the proceeding of values and experience from the elderly ones cannot be underestimated which definitely undermine the demerits. So, I believe the increase in the older ones carries more pros than cons.