You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: It is observed that in many countries, not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are the causes, and what will be the effects on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A prevalent observation nowadays in many countries is the dwindling participation of students when it comes to the science stream. This decision is opted for by students who prefer to make a career out of their own personal- and perhaps less renowned self interests. These interests could be those in the field of art, music, sports and so forth. Even in countries like India, which once pumped out engineers and doctors on an excessive scale now have students going against the stereotypes to pursue what they truly love.

Such a drastic step in the educational field is an ode to the freedom of choice and in my opinion, is a great step towards building a diverse work form.

While there is no doubt that the stream of science is exceptional for the making of respectable and important professions, it is essential to note that self interest makes up a great part of one’s work ethic. There is no point in forcing a child to study a subject he/she has no interest in. Such forceful decisions only lead to careless accidents in their field which can sometimes be fatal (as in the case of medical).

That being said, a few students pursuing their dream in other fields does not necessarily mean that the science stream is completely given up on. That’s the beauty of self interest. In fact, it is much more beneficial for a country to house doctors and engineers who actually enjoy their professions, as this will lead to a much better work flow and will result in flourishing, reliable and more successful pioneers.