You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: It is observed that in many countries, not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are the causes, and what will be the effects on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Science is the cornerstone of advancements in technology and innovations in the modern age. However, students in the majority of the countries have shifted their focus from science to other subjects. In this essay, I will discuss the causes and the effects of this transition on society.

The main factors that cause science to be less selected as a subject are its perceived difficulty, limited awareness of its scope, higher costs, and lack of role models. Science, for example, is considered a subject with complex concepts, which discourages the students from preferring it. Furthermore, people’s knowledge about the career opportunities of science is very little, which contrive to increase in the trend of rejecting science fields. In addition, higher costs associated with the longer years of study and related research projects deter masses from entering this discipline. Finally, the lack of leading figures who represent this area of study on TV and social media and motivate others to take this subject is also leading to a decrease in picking science courses. Clearly, these reasons provide a better understanding of the downward tendency of selecting scientific degrees.

Conversely, if science remains a less preferable discipline, society will feel the negative consequences of this inclination. These consequences will be diminishing inventions in technology, decreasing job opportunities for an ever-increasing population, and financial distress. Reduced research in inventing new technologies for health, industries, and many other areas of life will shrink our ability to deal with new diseases, pandemics, and growing demands for jobs as technology directly or indirectly is responsible for creating employment. This will impact the economy of the world, leading to inflation and poverty.

In conclusion, this essay discusses the root causes of not selecting science, such as its complexity, less awareness, expenses, and absence of motivating figures, and the impact it will have on society, which includes decreasing technological advancements, lesser jobs, and economic woes.