You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words, here.

Government funding of sports is a necessary means of keeping the general population healthy and fit. But to what extent is it important? And why does the government need to fund sports?

First, many argue that government investment in sports can be a waste of money. People may think that the government has more important services to allocate their budget to. However, many critics with this mindset often forget that government investment is supposed to benefit the average citizen. By investing in sports, the government is promoting staying fit and active. If the government builds new sports facilities with excellent ammenities, more people are bound to use them, thus, by playing sports, they suffer from less health problems than people who choose not to or are unable to. This could also be done through physical education lessons in schools. For instance, if the government were to install an attractive, brand-new tennis court for the public to use, those who use it will benefit by staying in shape and being prone to less health issues than citizens in countries or municipalities where the government chooses not to finance sports.

Another key point is that by investing in sports, the government will consequently spend less money on the healthcare sector. Critics argue that spending towards sports will increase taxes and government spending in general, but the opposite is true. As stated previously, because those who are encouraged to play sports will suffer from less health risks such as diabetes, in turn, the government will spend far less money on treatments, which may be in the form of hiring doctors, building hospitals, and medication. This is exponentially more expensive than implementing a sports curriculum in schools or providing sporting facilities for citizens.

In conclusion, government spending on sports is crucial to the general well-being of their citizens, and investment in sporting facilities must be expanded.