You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Today our communications, medicine and transport systems all depend on computer technology. Our reliance on computer technology in these fields has created a dangerous situation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays almost all our systems in crucial sectors like telecommunications, healthcare and infrastructure are based on computing technology. This technology creates the unsafe circumstances because we rely on it. In my opinion, this is really increase the level of possible threats to our safety. However, computers help people to get access to the services more fast and easier.

The answer to the question why it’s so dangerous is mainly depending on sector, threats analysis, criticality of the information or access, etc. For example, it is well-known that now a lot of data is located in clouds or data centers. In case of unathorized access to such data, it can lead to leakage or damage to the large amount of personal data. As a result, many people will take losses. Another example is a destruption in IT systems of airports or railways which can lead even to the human deaths or injuries because of the wrong instruction provided to a train driver or a pilot. A stable and fast communication is crucial in our fast-growing world and any destruction to it will lead to unpredictable consequences. That is why, the governments pay more attention to enhancing regulation on cybersecurity and information security issues, e.g., esteblishing the advanced requirements to the critical services providers, carrying out supervision and even punishing for breches the regulation.

In contrast, I beilive that the computer technology has contributed to the developments of our communications, provision of services, and made our lifes more easier and fast. It is easy to have a call with friend across the world or arrange an online meeting with the client, or book a ticket in two clicks. So, this is the huge advantage.

To conlude, even the computer technology brings a lot of threats and risks to our enviroment in different spheres, the government and service providers should work on their cybersecurity and enhancing protection of their IT systems. Nonetheless any risk and danger, this technology gives a lot of progress to our life.