You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: An increasing number of professionals, such as doctors and teachers, are leaving their own poorer countries to work in developed countries. What problems does this cause? What solutions can you suggest to deal with this situation? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge. Write at least 250 words.

There has been an increasing trend for the migration of professionals from poorer countries to work in more developed countries. As a result, problems began to appear. However, there are solutions.

The primary consequence involved with this is the collapse of the health and education sector of the home country of these workers. As doctors and nurses leave the country, hospitals begin to experience severe staff shortages. This may lead to the remaining medical personnel being overworked and reduce both the quantity and quality of medical care provided by the country’s public health facilities. Similarly, when skilled and experienced teachers look for new opportunities elsewhere, schools will also face the same problem. This causes the quality of education to degrade and hence, decreases the quality of life in the country in the long term as it lacks educated and skilled professionals. Besides this, the government experiences massive financial losses overall. Governments usually subsidize the training of doctors and teachers as they realize the long-term benefits that follow. However, this trend results in large losses as their investments decide to seek new opportunities elsewhere.

To combat this problem, the governments of these poor countries must improve domestic working conditions first. This means better pay, facilities and other incentives to improve the morale and job satisfaction of native skilled professionals. This is done so that workers such as doctors and teachers feel valued and hence, motivated to serve their country. With this, not only will it increase the likelihood of them staying in the country, the overall quantity and quality of their work would be enhanced, as well as improved productivity levels. Aside from that, governments should also implement some stricter rules and regulations regarding emigration. For example, workers such as doctors and teachers, that have received free or subsidized training, are legally obligated to work in the country for at least 5 years before being able to move to other countries.

In conclusion, the emigration of skilled professionals such as doctors and teachers to more developed nations have significant impacts and may jeopardize the survival of their poor home countries. However, with the right action and regulation implemented by the government, workers can be convinced or even happy to stay and serve for their country, hence contributing to their country’s overall growth.