You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people want governments to spend money looking for life on other planets. Others, however, think this is a waste of public money when there are so many problems on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Some people argue that governments should spend money looking for life on other planets, while others believe this is a waste of public funds because we have numerous problems on Earth.

I strongly agree with the latter statement. Although the prospect of life on other planets fascinates me, I do not see how such an endeavor could improve our lives, especially since we have more immediate concerns. There are still many people on Earth who do not have access to clean water or proper sanitation. Therefore, I strongly believe that this money should be spent on Earth improving the lives of many people who are still struggling to meet their basic needs.

Additionally, it is important to note that it may not benefit us to find life on other planets. It could be nearly impossible to travel to those planets, and even if we manage to find intelligent life, they could be hostile to us, or we might not be capable of communicating with them.

Another important thing to consider is that if we find planets that are capable of nurturing life, we still need advanced technologies to make them suitable for human inhabitants. If we had these technologies, we would be able to fix climate and geographical problems on Earth. In such a scenario, we would not need to search for other planets that can support life.

In summary, while I hope that more funds can be allocated to space exploration later on, for now, it is best to focus on many problems we have on Earth.