You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Nowadays people use bicycles less as a form of transport. Why is this the case? What can we do to encourage people to use bicycles more? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Out of all transportation modes, bicycles are used less among people nowadays. The major reason of this is lack of sufficient time due to which people prefer faster transport instead of bicycles. The better way of encouraging people to use bicycles is to teach them the environmental benefits of using this pollution free mode.

Firstly, people prefer to use cars, buses and other faster modes so that they may not waste their precious time. In today’s life full of hustle and bustle, everyone is in hurry to reach his/her workplace on time so they neglect the health benefits which riding bicycle offers. Using bicycle makes a person healthy as it helps in exercise of both legs and arms. Along with these health benefits, it also keeps the environment free of air pollution which is mostly caused by smoke released from the engine of automobiles. Having one’s own public transport is considered a sign to show that he is a rich man, which is a negative approach. In addition to all the benefits, using bicycle is cost effective too as there is no need of petrol or diesel to run cycle.

On the whole, the youngsters can be encouraged to use bicycles while going to school, by different lectures demonstrating the benefits of it. Moreover, they should be told that by riding bicycles, they will not need any extra exercise to keep themselves healthy. The governments of developed countries encourage the general public to either use bicycles or public transport to eliminate the pollution from environment. For instance, the president of Japan use his bicycle just to engage the people of his country in this healthy activity.

In conclusion, seminars and lectures should be arranged for people to develop the awareness among general public to make the country pollution free by just taking few essential measures.