You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree? You should write at least 250 words.

Many people argue that only national administrators and large businesses can make the environment better while residents cannot do anything to improve it. Personally, I completely disagree because of some reasons in this essay.

First of all, not only governments and big companies but also citizens play remarkable roles in protecting the environment. It is true that an individual’s environmental protection efforts can not have noticeable impacts compared with governments or major businesses’ campaigns whose purpose is to improve the environment. However, if a large number of dwellers join hands to protect the environment by particular activities, the effectiveness of those will become much better than a person’s. For instance, the large quantity of inhabitants’ recycling rubbish can be much more effective than collecting and recycling projects in limited areas which are funded and done by governmental ministries or major business.

Secondly, governments and large companies cannot make a difference in enhancing the environmental quality unless people are involved. The reason is that environmental protection movements need to have the large participation of communities to reach the highest impacts because residents directly do activities and spread their efforts to other people while governments and companies only raise money and launch these movements. As a result, the environment will not have the best improvement if only governments and big companies’ staff attend without the efforts of many dwellers.

In conclusion, I believe that all residents can give significant efforts in protecting the environment besides governments and big companies because of sharply communal impacts and primary contribution in campaigns. I recommend that residents, government and big companies should collaborate tightly to protect the environment better.