You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some people believe that staying in a country where you have to talk in an unfamiliar language could cause social issues and everyday challenges. This essay agrees that it can cause these problems.

One reason why these problems could occur is because there is a language barrier which can lead to huge misunderstandings. For example, there will be less communication between parents and teachers, so this can affect the student’s education, which can also have a long-term effect on the student’s life just because of the language barrier they have. Staying in a country where you have to talk in an unfamiliar language can also lead to discrimination, which is a serious issue leading to jail time and huge fines.

Moreover, it will be difficult to form friendships, which can lead to emotional stress and isolation, therefore changing the way you behave. Furthermore, without a shared language there will be fewer job opportunities or misunderstandings at work, leading to slower promotions and increasing chances of dismissal.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that living in a country with no understanding of the foreign language will only create problems, as language barriers affect both daily life and access to essential services.