You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Various societies teach children that hard work can lead to any achievement they want. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages relative to this statement and explain how it impacts on children’s development.

On one hand, teaching that working hard can achieve any thing has numerous advantages for children. One main point is, it helps to build the self confidence and motivation in their mind and they learn the value of hard working. Also, It can improve problem-solving skills by encouraging them to find different solutions to the challenges they face in their life. Moreover, hardworking children are more likely to improve their knowledge by exploring new things. For instance, in some countries, children are always taught to keep learning and never give up. So, trying enough for the achievements can positively affects for children’s development.

On the other hand we can identify some disadvantages of this. Sometimes hard work leads to increase the competition and also comparison among the colleagues. As a result, most students or children strive to surpass each other and may develop conflicts with others. Furthermore, they reduce the team work or collaboration because of the high motivation. In addition, high encouragement of achieving targets can cause stress and mental health issues. Therefore, if they try hard enough all the time for their achievements, it can affect negatively for kids.

Considering all the above factors we can conclude, working hard and trying enough to achieve goals has both advantages and disadvantages, but children should receive proper guidance from their parents on what to do.