You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In contemporary society, the phenomenon of children being told that they can achieve anything have become extremely ubiquitous. While this incontrovertibly can lead to success, other present controversial opinion. Both viewpoints will be discussed in this essay.

First and foremost, it’s crucial to understand that this robust stereotype can lead to many promising advantages. To begin with, implanting this mindset into youths mind can help foster perseverance, self-confidence and even independence. Not only do children grow up determined but this can help them feel motivated grow and thrive. Furthermore, cultures like India and china with a high academic curriculum and competition between classmates can lead to adequate discipline and high work quality. For instance, the “gaekao”, considered to be one of the most hardest tests is primary placed in China, children all year around are being told to work hard in order to enter the best universities and even ensure financial stability. What’s more is that these can lead to children being well-developed and ensuring they enter the well-known universities. It’s also worth mentioning that this mentality, can enable holistic development at a young age. To elaborate more, having parents that encourage studying for prolonged hours can help their children choose the top hardest major in Which they want, whether it’s medicine, engineering, aviation and etc.

In contrast, other individuals present counterarguments against that fact that this mentality builds self-esteem due to its numerous negative impacs. Firstly, parents telling their children that they need to work hard enough and that they’re not doing their best, can lower children well-being and even both physical and mental health . This can happen if parents tell their children that getting below 90% for example , isn’t accepted Which can then cause many psychological problems at a very young age . Not to mention that this leads tosleep deprivation, burn ours, and even desensitization caused by agony in the brain from being imperfect Whxih can diminish their self-worth. In addition, it’s essential to understand that breaks can be allowed sometimes in order to ensure balance. Subsequently, this can teach children that learning from their mistakes is the key to success. Moreover, parents should instead say that “not trying hard enough doesjt mean failure”, as children mostly in poor countries can sometimes build small businesses which can also aid them to their success and help them with university costs.

To conclude, while encouraging children to try their hardest is essential, it doesn’t necessarily ensure their success in the real world. I firmly believe that it’s important to harness this problem and teach them how to organise their work properly and study efficiently without directly scolding them for not trying hard enough or doing their best.