You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

A harsh reality is “Diseases are a luxury in poverty.” A significant proportion of people in developing and underdeveloped countries live below the poverty line. They cannot afford to get access to the fundamental necessities. Therefore, they cannot avail themselves of the medical remedies for many diseases and die from those diseases, even though those are curable.

I believe drug companies should make their products accessible and reduce their prices in these countries. This essay will elucidate the two major facts and provide examples from my personal experience.

Firstly, the drug industry is one of the highest-profit-earning sectors in the contemporary world, while a big portion of the world population is struggling to meet basic human needs. Drug companies make billions of dollars in business every day; on the contrary, the daily per capita income in Bangladesh is roughly around $9 (data from recent statistics of 2024-25). So, from humanitarian perspectives, the drug companies should help these people by providing their products and services at more reasonable and affordable prices.

Another thing, drug companies exploit the people to keep their profit margin high. Not only they sell their products at higher rates, including all the charges from production to marketing, but also the consumers have to pay for the side effects of those medicines. Thus, the companies should lower their prices for these people.

To conclude, I would like to say that if we want to see a happy and healthy world for all, then we have to make our rigid rules a little flexible and make an equitable distribution of resources.