You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people think that the best way to solve the problem of air pollution in cities is to increase the cost of vehicle fuel. Others think that different measures should be taken. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Air pollution is one of the major factor s behind global warming. It has caused depletion of the ozone layer, which maintains the Ea rth’s atmosphere by blocking the harmful radiations from space. The polluted air also h arms people’s respiratory systems, which has long-term health complications. Many efforts are being taken to control air pollution. Some say that since the main source of air pollution is vehicles, therefore the cost of vehicle operation should be increased, while others reject this bythis, citing the fact that vehicles are an important part of the global economy and its sustainability, and that there are other ways to reduce the pollutant gas emissions bywhile maintaining the same vehicle cost.

There are claims that if the cost of the vehiclevehicles is raised, then it will reduce the number of vehicles inon the road and most people will prefer public transportation. With this reduction in vehicle,vehicles, air pollution can be slightly controlled, but otherothers argue that vehicles are not the only reason behind the air pollution. Many industrial factories and coalcoal-fired electric power plantplants are some big reasons behind them thereforeit; therefore, this attempt will not have any significant impact.

Many experts have suggested that gasoline vehicles can be replaced by electric vehiclevehicles, which will decrease the emissionemissions, but some argue that the battery development process involves air pollution. Hence, it will not be impactful either. Meanwhile, many auto companies have started taking efforts to build envir onment-friendly cars by investing heavily in thiertheir research and development. Toyota has taken the lead in the development of a hydrogen engine, where a vehicle emits water vapor upon combustion.