You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people believe that history has no value in the contemporary world. But some believe that we still need history to learn from the past. Discuss both viewpoints and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

History, at present, is one of the most controversial topic. There is division among people for this, one who considers the subject of little value in today’s contemporary world, and others who considers it as an experience to learn for the future. There is much technological development going on in the present world, such as Al, Cyber Security, Robotics, Biotechnology etc. to name a few, which makes the previous historical knowledge obsolete and has no significance in today’s time. However, as per my opinion the seeds for the development of these technologies are sown in the past, and the benefits of that we are reaping today and more in the future.

For instance, consider the branch of Robotics, which has emerged as one of the most advanced technological domain in this era, has been developed via series of hits and trials started in the 1950s by the prestigious institute MIT. Many failures and new discoveries are responsible for development of this field. Failed Inventions in the past which are success today like Cooking Robots, Cleaning robots etc. are helping the mankind to contribute towards more intellectual area. This is the result of learning from historical failures. Therefore, it is the past experience which has contributed to the present gain and future potential.

Moreover, for invention of any field, there needs to be a starting point. To support this point, take example of microwave. This device, which we are using today to warm up our foods, has been accidently discovered by the scientists whose candies were melted while performing experiments on microwave radiation. If this previously stated result wasn’t identifed, the sole purpose of serving the community wouldn’t be served.

In conclusion, there can be many arguments and counterarguments for this, but that approach should be adhered which benefits both individual and society as a whole, and helps to build a better future.